Tuesday, November 07, 2006

Reporters Without Borders lists 13 'enemies of the Internet'

Nov 06 2006

The campaigning group Reporters Without Borders (RSF) on Monday listed 13 countries it labelled as "enemies of the Internet" ahead of a 24 hour campaign in favour of free access to the web.

The 13 countries are: Saudi Arabia, Belarus, Myanmar, China, North Korea, Cuba, Egypt, Iran, Uzbekistan, Syria, Tunisia, Turkmenistan and Vietnam.

Three countries were removed from RSF's 2005 list -- Libya, the Maldives and Nepal.

However the inclusion of Egypt was because "President Hosni Mubarak is displaying an authoritarianism towards the Internet that is particularly worrying," RSF said -- noting the recent imprisonment of three pro-democracy bloggers.

From Tuesday at 10H00 GMT RSF is asking the public to register on its Internet site in "defense of on-line free expression and the fate of bloggers in repressive countries."


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home